Disintegrating

Trauma is a universal human experience. Some of us become acquainted with it early in life, though it may not be recognized. It’s not something experienced once, but more typically multiple times at different ages. Recently, Colleen Perry wrote about trauma, specifically post traumatic stress disorder, in the Huffington Post. (http://www.huffingtonpost.com/colleen-perry/the-way-i-see-it–lets-ma_b_148957.html) She wrote about a deeply personal experience in her own life, that has implications for our society. This brought back memories of a trauma that led to the disintegration of my marriage, my physical health, my mental health, my world. A slight clarification, I was literally back in the event itself, as if transported back to that instant when nothing made sense anymore, time stopped, and I was encapsulated by insanity.

I wrote a response and then checked back frequently to read how other people responded. Someone with the screen name, “Otay Panky” recommended doing a Google search on Peter Levine and PTSD. I want to express my gratitude for that, because it led me to information that has the potential to save lives. It also led me to start this blog, wherever it may lead. People who have experienced trauma need a witness, a non-judgemental listener who can walk through the event(s) with them. But, and this is crucial, they/we need to discharge the energy our bodies biologically summoned to face the trauma. This is the central principle of Peter Levine’s work.

On the welcome page of his website The Foundation for Human Enrichment, Levine writes:

Trauma is about broken connections. Connection is broken with the body/self, family, friends, community, nature, and spirit, perpetuating the downward spiral of traumatic dislocation. Healing trauma is about restoring these connections.

I highly recommend checking out his website. I’m lucky to have experienced some healing due in large part to a relationship where it has been safe for me to mend some of the broken connections Levine describes. I plan to do more research in this area, but in the meantime, invite you who have experienced trauma and long for healing to use this blog if it can be of help to you. My qualifications for witnessing are degrees in psychology, and nursing, training in yoga therapy and mindfulness, and completely disintegrating to a point where I no longer recognized myself. Nothing can replace counseling from a professional therapist, I’ve had many hours over many years, but if sharing your experience feels like it will help, that’s what the purpose of this blog is. In connecting, may the journey of healing begin.
~ by janetlandis on December 12, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
