Japanese Maple

Walking with the dogs

fanned by their waving tails

my eyes were drawn

to a Japanese Maple.

Now the breeze tossed my purple leaves

delicate beauty, sturdy roots, a strong trunk

became the truth of my being,

I saw without eyes

sister tree, who pulled me in,

embraced a cloud of  tattered pieces

and made us one.

~ by janetlandis on April 25, 2010.

2 Responses to “Japanese Maple”

  1. I loved this poem. The visual elements you describe made me feel like I could see or even touch what you were articulating. I also really enjoyed the dogs at the beginning of the poem. Very nice.

    • Thanks – I appreciate your comments. I haven’t gotten much feedback, so I’ve let this blog go, but I really care about the idea behind starting it so your interest means a great deal to me.
      Thanks again, and peace.

Leave a Reply

 
